ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award

Notice: Undefined index: use_background_color_gradient in /home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data03/18/42006418/html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/class-et-builder-element.php on line 9076

Notice: Undefined index: use_background_image in /home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data03/18/42006418/html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/class-et-builder-element.php on line 9077

Notice: Undefined index: use_background_color in /home/content/p3pnexwpnas18_data03/18/42006418/html/wp-content/themes/Extra/includes/builder/class-et-builder-element.php on line 9078

Distinguished Dissertation Award Call for Applications 2019

Do you know an outstanding doctoral student who has recently graduated? Is there an up-and-coming scholar in your academic community whose research deserves to be recognized? Here is an opportunity you won’t want to miss!

CAGS is excited to announce the 2019 CAGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards.

For more than twenty years, the CAGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards have recognized exceptional doctoral researchers making an impact in their field of study. We seek work that makes significant, original contributions to both the academic community and to Canadian society at large.

This year, award winners will receive a cash prize of $1500, an all-inclusive trip to the 2019 CAGS Annual Conference, and the opportunity to connect with scholars from across Canada.

TWO winners will be selected, one from each of the following categories:

  1. Engineering, Medical Sciences and Natural Sciences
  2. Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Eligible dissertations must have been completed and accepted by the Graduate School between 1 JANUARY 2018 and 31 DECEMBER 2018.

Deadline for Nominations: 31 March 2019.

ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award

The CAGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards have been recognizing outstanding Canadian doctoral dissertations for more than 20 years. We seek work that makes significant, original contributions to both the academic community and to Canadian society. There are two awards: one for engineering, medical sciences and natural sciences; and one for fine arts, humanities and social sciences. They include a $1,500 prize, a Citation Certificate, and an awards ceremony at the CAGS Annual Conference.

Dr. Ashley Whillans, Department of Psychology, University of British Columbia.
Dr. Christian Reimer, Department of Physics, National Institute for Scientific Research (INRS)

Dr. Boyang Zhang, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto.
Dr. Leila Qashu, Department of Ethnomusicology, Memorial University.

Dr. Douglas Hunter, Department of History, York University.
Dr. Drew Higgins, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Waterloo.

Dr. Bree Akesson, School of Social Work, McGill University.
Dr. Michelle (Tonkin) Parker, Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology, University of Victoria.

Dr. Eric Weissman, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Concordia University.
Dr. Daniel Boyce, Department of Biology, Dalhousie University.

Dr. Laura Bisaillon, Department of Population Health, University of Ottawa.
Dr. Aaron Shafer, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta.

  • ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award