Association canadienne pour les études supérieures

Le Secrétariat gère l’Association au jour le jour et exécute les décisions du Conseil d’administration. .

Il agence le site Web et la messagerie électronique. Il répond aux demandes de renseignements sur les études supérieures au Canada et sur l’adhésion à l’Association.

Il suit de près les mesures politiques et législatives fédérales relatives aux études supérieures et à la recherche universitaire, et il informe les conseils de recherche, les fonctionnaires et les parlementaires de la contribution des études supérieures au Canada et des besoins en la matière.

L’ACES a un nouveau directeur administratif – septembre 2020

Le conseil d’administration a le plaisir d’annoncer la nomination de Ian Wereley, Ph. D., au poste de directeur administratif de l’Association canadienne pour les études supérieures. Ian succède à ce poste à Sally Rutherford, qui a pris sa retraite à la fin de 2019. Au service de l’ACES depuis 2017, il y était précédemment responsable des communications et des relations publiques.

Ian assumera dorénavant la gestion du bureau national à Ottawa et veillera à promouvoir les intérêts de l’Association dans l’ensemble du pays. Il aura pour tâche d’exécuter la mission et le plan stratégique de l’ACES pendant une période difficile et exceptionnelle de l’histoire de l’enseignement supérieur. Il estime toutefois qu’un esprit de communauté, de collaboration et d’innovation peut venir à bout de n’importe quel obstacle. Fervent défenseur d’un apprentissage accessible et inclusif dans la collectivité, Ian adhère à la vision de l’ACES de soutenir la formation des personnes qui, par leur érudition, leurs recherches, leur esprit d’innovation et leur pratique professionnelle, contribuent à l’épanouissement des sociétés, au Canada et de par le monde.

Ian est titulaire d’un doctorat de l’Université Carleton et a terminé récemment un postdoctorat au Calgary Institute for the Humanities. Il publie sur l’histoire du pétrole au Canada et à l’étranger. Ian et sa famille habitent à Aylmer, au Québec.

Ian Wereleydirecteur exécutif

301 – 260 rue, St-Patrick Street
Ottawa ON K1N 5K5
Tel : 613 562 0949 | Fax : 613 562 9009 | Courriel : info@cags.ca

Canadian Association for Graduate Studies

The Canadian Association for Graduate Studies (CAGS) was founded in 1962 to promote graduate education and university research through meetings, publications and advocacy. The Association brings together 58 Canadian universities with graduate programs and the three federal research-granting agencies, as well as other institutions and organizations having an interest in graduate studies.

The National Office deals with the day-to-day operations of the Association, maintains the website, oversees the e-mail discussion lists and coordinates the decisions or the initiatives of the Board of Directors.

The National Office provides information about the Association, about membership in the Association and about graduate studies in Canada.

The National Office monitors federal policies and legislation with respect to graduate education and university research, and provides information to research-granting agencies, civil servants and Members of Parliament on the purpose and needs of graduate education.

Announcing New Executive Director of CAGS – September 2020

The Board of Directors is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Ian Wereley as Executive Director of the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies. He takes over the position recently vacated by Sally Rutherford, who retired at the end of 2019. Ian has been with CAGS since 2017 and was formerly responsible for the Association’s communications and public relations files.

Ian will now be responsible for managing the national office in Ottawa, and for advancing the interests of the Association across the country. He is tasked with implementing CAGS’s mission and strategic plan during a challenging and unprecedented moment in the history of higher education. He believes, however, that a spirit of community, collaboration, and innovation can overcome any obstacle. A strong advocate for accessible, inclusive, and community-based learning, Ian is committed to CAGS’s vision of supporting the formation of individuals who, through scholarship, research, innovation and practice, contribute to the flourishing of societies in Canada and around the world.

Ian holds a Ph.D. from Carleton University, and recently completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Calgary Institute for the Humanities. He publishes on the history of oil in Canada and abroad. Ian and his family live in Aylmer, Quebec.

Ian WereleyExecutive Director

301 – 260, St-Patrick Street
Ottawa ON K1N 5K5
Tel: 613 562 0949 | Fax: 613 562 9009 | Email: info@cags.ca